Unbar the doors!  Throw open the doors!

I will not have the house of prayer, the church of Christ

The sanctuary, turned into a fortress.

 The Church shall protect her own, in her own way, not

 As oak and stone; stone and oak decay,

 Give no stay, but the Church shall endure.

 The Church shall be open, even to our enemies.  Open the door!

(Archbishop Thomas, when his priests tried to protect him from his executioners by locking the church’s doors) 

 in Murder in the Cathedral by T.S. Eliot

I read the play ‘Murder in the Cathedral’ during my lunch break today.  I read it in one sitting, and the above quote has stayed in my mind.  I thought, that is what we all should do: open wide the door of the Church.  Even if it means being vulnerable, even if by doing so, the attackers should enter.