I am scheduled to have an interview this Wednesday with that university located in fairy land.  I have started feeling nervous since last Friday.  I worried that my presentation is too simple, that I will embarass myself.  That has always been the chief worry of my life: I am afraid of embarassing myself.

Last night I read the last but one chapter of Chesterton’s Orthodoxy, for the second time.  (As with The Everlasting Man,  I found that I need to read each chapter twice before I begin to understand Chesterton’s points).  I found these sentences that chastised me yet warmed my heart.

Alone of all creeds, Christianity has added courage to the virtues of the Creator. For the only courage worth calling courage must necessarily mean that the soul passes a breaking point–and does not break.

G.K. Chesterton, Orthodoxy, Chapter 8

Chesterton was talking about Christ’s agony in the garden of Gethsemane.  Oh, how could I say that I am a follower of that courageous Lord, He who prayed in agony and sweated blood, yet marched resolutely to the cross?  Be still, my heart, practice, practice, practice, and take courage.